Crime Victim Compensation
Compensation for certain crime-related expenses may be available to victims or their family members. A program application must be submitted. You can obtain an application from the Crime Victim Compensation Division or through local victim service providers. For more information, call 1.800.829.6766, 1.601.359.4144 or visit the Office of the Attorney General website at www.ago.state.ms.us.
Crime Prevention and Victim Services encompasses Victim Assistance, Victim Compensation and Youth Services. Our mission focuses on avenues which promote crime prevention measures for the safety of the citizens of Mississippi and provide services for victims of crime.
The Crime Victim Compensation Division provides financial assistance to victims of violent crime and their family members. The Division assists with reducing the financial burden of crime by reimbursing victims for their crime related expenses not covered by any other source of benefits (insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, disability benefits, Workers’ Compensation, etc.) Compensation may be awarded to the victim, the dependents of a deceased victim or a person authorized to act on behalf of the victim and/or surviving dependent.
COMPENSATION MAY BE AVAILABLE FOR:
- Counseling Services
- Court Related Transportation Costs
- Crime Scene Expenses
- Domestic Violence Relocation and Temporary Housing Assistance
- Funeral Expenses
- Limited Transportation Costs
- Loss of Support for Dependent(s) of Homicide Victims
- Medical and Dental Expenses
- Work Loss
- Repair/Replacement Costs
YOU MUST SUBMIT AN APPLICATION FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITATIONS DO APPLY FOR PEOPLE WHO MAY BE ELIGIBLE.
Individual must be the victim of a violent crime who has suffered personal injury, death or extreme psychological trauma as a result of the crime. Types of crimes include: assault, hit and run, homicide, sexual assault, domestic violence, DUI crashes, vehicular homicide, stalking, child abuse, kidnapping;
- Dependents of a deceased victim;
- Persons authorized to act on behalf of the victim or dependents of a deceased victim;
- Family members of the victim who have funeral expenses related to the claim;
- A Mississippi resident who is a victim of a violent crime in a foreign country which does not provide crime victim compensation; and
- A person who witnessed a violent crime
HOW DO I QUALIFY?
- Must report the crime to law enforcement officials within 72 hours or show good cause for not reporting;
- Application must be received within 36 months after the date of the crime;
- In cases of child sexual abuse, the application must be received within 36 months after the crime was reported;
- Must cooperate with law enforcement investigation and prosecution;
- Must not have contributed, provoked or in any way caused the injury or death; and
- All other available sources of payment such as insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, disability benefits and Worker’s Compensation must pay first.
WHO DOES NOT QUALIFY?
- A victim/claimant who engaged in illegal conduct;
- The offender and/or accomplice to the offender;
- Anyone injured in a motor vehicle incident unless the vehicle was used by the offender (1) intentionally as a weapon, (2) in a hit and run, (3) while driving under the influence (DUI), or (4) in an attempt to flee from law enforcement;
- Anyone incarcerated in a penal institution when the crime occurred;
- A victim/claimant who, after the injury on which this claim is based, is convicted of any felony and the conviction becomes known to the Division; and
- A victim/claimant who has two previous felony convictions.
- Medical expenses not covered by other sources, up to $15,000 per claim;
- Transportation costs to obtain medical and/or mental health services that are at least 45 miles one way from the victim/claimant’s residence, up to $500 per claim;
- Mental health counseling for the victim/victim’s family members, up to $3,500 per claim;
- Lost wages for the victim, up to $600 per week for 52 weeks; not to exceed $20,000 per claim;
- Funeral expenses, up to $6,500 and transportation costs to make arrangements or to attend funeral, up to $800 per claim;
- Lost wages for claimant to make arrangements to attend funeral, up to $600 per claim for one week;
- Loss of support for dependents of a deceased victim, up to $600 per week for 52 weeks, not to exceed $20,000 per claim;
- Domestic Violence Relocation Assistant, up to $2,000 one time benefit. *To request this benefit, an application and other required documents must be submitted within 30 days of the crime.
- Domestic Violence Temporary Housing Assistance, up to $500 one time benefit. *To request this benefit, an application and other required documents must be submitted within 30 days from the date of the crime.
- Court related travel reimbursement, up to $1,000 per claim;
- Repair/replacement costs for damaged exterior windows, locks, doors and/or other security devices for residential dwelling, up to $500 per claim; and
- Crime scene cleanup, up to $1,000 per claim.
WHAT IS NOT COVERED?
- Stolen and/or damaged property;
- Payment for pain and suffering;
- Attorneys fees; and
- Expenses paid by an insurance plan, public funds, the offender or other sources.
- Other limitations may apply.
TERRICK WRIGHT, JR. SENTENCED
RANDOLYN FAINT SENTENCED FOR DOUBLE HOMICIDE
MARSHALL GIVEN 20 YEAR SENTENCE FOR DEADLY DUI
PROCESS & MUNICIPALITIES & LEGALITIES
Our Mission • Judicial Process • Municipalities • Disclaimer of Liability • Indemnification • Cookies
© 2022 MISSISSIPPI DELTA DISTRICT ATTORNEY.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. WEBSITE DESIGN BY THAT CREATIVE GUY.